Six Degrees of Separation

I was listening to a song of The Script, Six Degrees of Separation. I was moved by the song, so, I searched the lyrics. Then, I saw an article pertaining to Six Degrees of Separation. My curiosity was immediately peaked when I saw it. So, it said:

Six degrees of separation is the theory that anyone on the planet can be connected to any other person on the planet through a chain of acquaintances that has no more than five intermediaries. The theory was first proposed in 1929 by the Hungarian writer Frigyes Karinthy in a short story called “Chains.”

Well, it was a good read. It is in times like this that I wish I should have taken Psychology or something as my college degree. But nevermind, I love Nursing now. Anyway, the theory is interesting. According to the article, Six Degrees of Separation is also known as the “Small-World Problem”.

I’m actually wondering now if the people who know me here in WordPress or any other people I met somewhere can be actually connected to me in real life through 5-6 people. Wouldn’t be amazing if this theory is actually true? Okay, I’m just ranting. I’ll stop now.

 

 

Leave a Reply

