To all of the over-thinkers (The Remedy)

I know most of us have our own issues that we have to deal with, issues which can be simple or complicated. They say life is unfair. They say, things are simple, people just make it complicated. I agree.

I don’t know if you do what I do most of the time too, that’s, over-think, over-analyze,over-worry, and whatever similar thing I can think of that I over-do. It’s not like it’s wrong for us to do these but I think it’s just that we can’t just help ourselves from doing so.

Today,I came across the song, The Remedy by Jason Mraz. It’s my new favorite song (well, new to me). These were the lines that hit something in me:

When I fall in love, I take my time
There’s no need to hurry when I’m making up my mind
You can turn off the sun, but I’m still gonna shine
And I’ll tell you why

I say the tragedy is how you’re gonna spend
The rest of your nights with the light on
So shine the light on all of your friends
Well it all amounts to nothing in the end

And I won’t worry my life away
Hey hey hey, oh oh
I won’t worry my life away
Hey hey hey, oh oh

 

Those lines from the song tells me so much. As a person who makes a habit of over-thinking, I really do need to make this song the theme song of my life. I did a little bit of research about the meaning of the song. Well, what I found out is that, Jason Mraz wrote the song for his friend who was diagnosed with Cancer. The song was meant to deliver the message that: No matter what happens in your life, your time shouldn’t be wasted worrying all the time, especially when you haven’t got all the time in the world anymore.

We are so lucky to be granted with so much time in our lives (even if people say that life is short, I don’t care). We have so much time. I mean, don’t we want to spend our time by being so much happy rather than worrying our lives away?

There will always be bad days when we will not be able to stop ourselves from doing all the thinking. And it’s okay. It may require us some effort to eventually stop ourselves from over-thinking/over-worrying, but what’s important is that we are trying to make ourselves better, our lives better. Let’s hope that something better or great is going to happen to us.

Hayley (hayleyslilworld.wordpress.com) my new friend, this is for you too 🙂

Leave a Reply

