Daily Prompt: All Grown Up

When was the first time you really felt like a grown up (if ever)?

It was the day I was done with the board exam. I had nothing left to do but wait for the results of what seemed to be the “JUDGEMENT” day of my life. The moment I exited from the examination room, that was the moment that I had to make a step to do something with my life.

I am the eldest child in my family. I knew that the responsibility of being able to provide for my family, is immediately put on my shoulder. I didn’t want to be ever dependent on my parents.

Then, I decided to go and hunt for a job. That’s the first time that I’ve really felt like I’m a grown up. I had thoughts of how hard it is to be unemployed. I had to go to job interviews. But sadly, luck was not on my side yet. I got rejected multiple times.

I thought of how it is complicated to be a grown up. You need to earn your money..work hard for it..and most of all, feel indecisive if you spend it on some random things.

I guess feeling grown up is like knowing that you have to be serious at some point of your life. You need to make a living for yourself and whoever your dependents are. You know that you cannot go back to those times when all you do is sit in front of the TV..or do your homeworks..etc. You have this sense of having to meet a certain goal for your sense of fulfillment cause you feel like a grown-up.

Leave a Reply

