Daily Prompt: I Want to Know What Love Is. Dammit!

We each have many types of love relationships — parents, children, spouses, friends. And they’re not always with people; you may love an animal, or a place. Is there a single idea or definition that runs through all the varieties of “love”?

I remember in one of my college class, our professor asked each one of us to define love.  Since it was a graded recitation, I did my bestest to answer it in the most non-weird way. I think my answer back then was: “Love is like the staircase, with each step you take of steep steps, you are in the danger of falling.” Well, it seemed like I failed myself for giving the most non-weird definition of love. My answer gained some “wooohs” from the class.  Some of my classmates’ definitions were more dramatic than mine, others are so cheesy that everyone in the class laughed.

I guess love doesn’t have to defined in the most detailed way because as they say, it is difficult to explain it. There are no words for it. Though there may be different types of love, puppy love, wife-husband life, eternal love, sibling-y love, friend-y love, pet-love, or whatever..Love is just simply caring for someone or somebody. If you care enough for a person, thing, animal, or place, that’s somehow being in love. It gives you “that” feeling that I cannot even explain here.

7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: I Want to Know What Love Is. Dammit!

  1. Pingback: Love Ain’t What It Used To Be | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: I want to know what love is… specially prepared for Mother’s Day! | 3rdculturechildren

  3. Pingback: Seeking, Hoping, Believing – Love #wordpress #photography #love | Moondustwriter's Blog

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt : I want to Know What Love Is | writinglikeastoner

  5. Pingback: Love | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

