Daily Prompt: Take Care

When you’re unwell, do you allow others to take care of you, or do you prefer to soldier on alone? What does it take for you to ask for help?

When I get sick this is the scene:

I would suck inside my bedroom, writhing in misery (just kidding, but close to that). Anyway, I do know how to take care of myself though. I am a nurse. However, even that’s the case, my mum would always come barging in my room and be my private nurse. Yes, she’s the best nurse that anyone could ever have. I know that I am close to being a grown mature woman in my 20s. When I get sick, well that information gets ignored, somehow, I get back to the childish side of me. I would totally let my mother to take care of me.

Everytime she sees that I feel sick, she immediately goes to my rescue. She’d start by cooking me a mouthwatering soup to make me feel better. She even brings it to bed so I will not have to get up. Then, she all goes the way by reminding me to take my medications even though she knows that I probably know more about medications than her. After all the  caring acts, she will also go and scold me for not taking care of myself. She would tell me, “That’s what you get for staying up late browsing the internet and not eating healthy..blah..blah..” But I don’t mind it. It’s good to know that even if I’m this old, she still takes care of me. Sometimes, I can’t help but feel nostalgic in times like this. I just feel like I’m back to the 5-year old me being taken care by my mother when I get sick. It just brings back all the memories.

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Take Care

  1. Pingback: Pride | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

